"snake oil" exact phrase
votes:4 posts with 4+ votes
created:<1w created < 1 week ago
post_type:xxxx type of post
Search help
Notifications
Mark all as read See all your notifications »
Meta

Comments on What are the rules of programming language compliance?

Parent

What are the rules of programming language compliance?

+5
−0

Code Golf seems like a fun idea to me, since I'm a programmer by trade and "language lawyer" nerd as a hobby.

But every time I checked the code golf site on SE, I dismissed it as nonsense, because the vast majority of all programs that were posted & highly up-voted there won't even compile on the most basic, compliant compiler for that language.

That kind of defeats the whole point of code golf, since anyone can just post some random incomplete snippet which can't even execute - then claim that they reduced the amount of characters quite a bit by doing so.

Obviously the site needs some set rules for this. Could someone illuminate this part to a newbie:

• What are the rules in general for programming language compliance?

• What are the specific rules for individual programming languages and where can one find those?

History
Why does this post require moderator attention?
You might want to add some details to your flag.
Why should this post be closed?

0 comment threads

−1

If there exists something (reasonable) that can run it, it's valid.

This includes obscure, non-standards-compliant compilers (though this should be specified in the answer if needed). So any posted program on a standard code-golf question must actually be executable and should (at least theoretically) complete the required task.

Depending on the situation, it may or may not make sense to count the compiler/interpreter flags in the byte count of the answer. The specifics depend on the language (e.g. no need to count file name or a generic "please compile" flag, but -Dm=main(){puts("Hello, World!");} must be counted for a C compiler.)